Zoning out on the train ride to work today, I let my mind drift a little. And no, this had nothing to do with it being 4/20.
I thought to myself, "What's so hard about NOT doing something?" All day long I do difficult things when I'd rather just be sitting around doing nothing at all. So when it comes to NOT putting shit-food into my hand, then mouth, then body...or NOT going over to the cabinet, pulling out the bag of Reeses Pieces, emptying some into my hand, and reclipping the bag shut...why is it that I don't pass up the opportunity to do nothing?
I guess the same can be said for people who can't resist calling or texting an ex. I mean, really, it would be a lot easier to just not open up a new text message template, type-backspace-type all your enraged words, then go through the phonebook, select him, send, and spend the next undetermined amount of minutes/hours/days in unsettled silence. Right?
But we do it anyways. And as an actively lazy member in today's American society, it makes no sense to me how we go about selecting the action items in our lives.
Nonetheless, I'm changing the meaning behind taking the easy way out. This no longer means having dessert just because, or eating the Oreos because they are there. My strategy is a whole lot easier than that. My strategy is removing the thought from my mind all togther.
And who doesn't enjoy having one less thing to worry about?
Tuesday, April 20, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment